On the Rich & the Occupy Wall Street Protests

I post & Share a good bit of stuff on Facebook about the evils of corporations & the uber-rich. So, you probably think I sneer at the term “job creators” when applied to them.

Mostly, you would be right.

However, I DO recognize that SOME of the very richest got that way from providing real products or services better, faster, smarter than anyone else. In that category, I put the founders of FedEx, Microsoft, Apple, Facebook, Google & a score of others.

These folks actually did create some jobs, even when you balance their later layoffs & off-shoring.

Of course, all the experts will tell you that real job growth comes from small business and new companies; and that requires that wealth be distributed widely enough for the free market to work well.

As wealth is concentrated into fewer & fewer uber-rich people & multinational corporations, job growth dies. And more & more of the wealth goes to people who create nothing except debt & scams.

What attracted me to the libertarian movement in my youth was the vision of a free society where anyone could be wealthy if they chose to work for it. In my adulthood, I came to realize this is a pipe dream & is less likely to be true as corporations buy up the world, which seems to be where we are heading.

So, Occupy Everywhere — if you have a plan to spread the wealth without destroying the society in the process. Otherwise, feh on the future, I suppose.

About Tim Gatewood

55+, male, widowed (May 2016). Mobile notary public and signing agent, freelance writer, and ordained minister. Science fiction and fantasy fan, willing servant to cats, avid reader and collector of books and other stuff. Please see my websites (including this blog and others) for more info on me and what I think about the issues of the day.
This entry was posted in Independent Business, Politics, Rants and Raves. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

