On Opening a Credit Union Account

As part of the Bank Transfer Day & in support of Occupy Wall Street & Occupy Memphis, I opened a Credit Union account earlier today.

It took a while to go thru the process & I won’t have access to the funds deposited until next Tuesday (used a check to move the $). It would have been quicker if I had deposited cash to open the account.

It will be up to 2 weeks for my debit card & up to 3 for the checks to come in. Checks deposited will likely be held longer than at the bank until I establish some history with the CU.

Their basic account costs more than the bank, unless I have at least 1 direct deposit a month.

Even the biggest credit union in the area has fewer ATMs and branches than my current bank.

My point in telling you this? Be prepared for this change to be bumpy at first. It should smooth out over time.

Banks got us with convenience. We may (probably will) have to give up some of that to get free of the banks.

About Tim Gatewood

55+, male, widowed (May 2016). Mobile notary public and signing agent, freelance writer, and ordained minister. Science fiction and fantasy fan, willing servant to cats, avid reader and collector of books and other stuff. Please see my websites (including this blog and others) for more info on me and what I think about the issues of the day.
This entry was posted in Politics, Rants and Raves. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

