Bad Customer Service – BOMC2

Many years ago, I joined a book club called Zooba. I had been in book clubs before, so I knew the routine. What struck me about Zooba was it had a wide range of types of books and a simple, yet detailed, user interface on their website. I was a happy customer of Zooba for a long time.

Then, one day, they were sold to the same corporation as the one that owns Book of the Month Club. The new corporate parent renamed them BOMC2, but otherwise left the website alone.

Roughly a year ago, all that changed. They shut down the website for over a month, then brought it back with less than half of its functionality restored. All of the history of books received was lost, dates when books would be shipped or when I would be charged for the books could not be determined, and no one there would give any honest answers to any questions I sent them. All I could get was canned responses that did not even address the issues I raised.

Finally, I gave up on them. I told them to close my account. It took several requests to get them to do so, but they eventually did — and sent me no less than 3 emails saying that my account was now closed.

The last book I received from them came with the usual bill that said it was prepaid as part of my subscription. In other words, I did not owe them anything more for it than I had already paid at that point. So, naturally, I considered them done and out of my life.

Alas, Bad Customer Service was not limited to dealing with them as an actual customer. They continued to show that they have no idea what they are doing even after my account was closed.

First, they sent me an email saying my account was re-opened because they had sent me another book. As I had canceled all of my orders when I closed my account (literally, I deleted every book on my list of books wanted from them), this was not a book I had requested. Per my understanding of Postal regulations, items received in the mail that were not ordered do not have to be paid for, as they are considered to be gifts. This regulation was put in place to prevent scammers from sending out unrequested items and then demanding paying. I notified BOMC2 through every available channel that I would not pay them for a book I had not requested. And I demanded that they re-close my account and stop all further communications with me. They sent me an email saying my account was closed.

Second, they decided to “double down on the dumb” by not only refusing to admit that the book sent after my account was closed was their mistake (and, legally, a gift to me), but they also claimed that I had not paid them for the last book received while I was still a member. As that was received with paperwork that showed otherwise, I don’t believe them.

Third, even though I have repeatedly explained this to them, they continue to send me bills for a book that was pre-paid and a book that was not ordered.

For all of these reasons, BOMC2 is at the top of my list of BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE and I highly recommend that everyone who reads this avoid BOMC2 and any other book club owned by Book of the Month Club or their affiliates.

This is the sort of thing that makes me glad I have a Kindle and a Nook, so I can just get the ebooks and avoid the hardbacks.

About Tim Gatewood

55+, male, widowed (May 2016). Mobile notary public and signing agent, freelance writer, and ordained minister. Science fiction and fantasy fan, willing servant to cats, avid reader and collector of books and other stuff. Please see my websites (including this blog and others) for more info on me and what I think about the issues of the day.
This entry was posted in Rants and Raves. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bad Customer Service – BOMC2

  1. I totally agree with all of the above. Zooba was great and so was BOMC2 for quite awhile and even recommended them to friends. Then the madness started. I was sent doubles or none at all or books I didn’t order. To top this I am still getting bills for books not received or were paid for years ago. Cut your losses and shut down and stop annoying people. It would be nice if you went back to your original format. Change isn’t always a good thing.

    Like

  2. I just received a book from them that is the same book they sent me last month. It had been removed from my reading list, so I have no idea why this was sent. Also, all but three of the books on my reading list have been removed, and I didn’t remove them. I love a good mystery. Almost all of the books in the mystery category are written by James Patterson. Is this the James Patterson book club? Have all of the good authors left the club?

    Like

  3. Susan Nogan says:

    I’ve been trying to get a password issue resolved with the new customer indifference department for two weeks. It took then ten days to respond to my initial e-mail. Bookburst now tops Comcast for worst customer service ever. I predict no changes unless and until company brass start hearing the complaints via social media. Post reviews on Yelp and tweet about your experience.

    Like

  4. Aleis Maxim says:

    I would like to say that the zooba book club wasn’t actually sold it was just re-branded. I was a member of the sci-fi book club long before any of the others and the way that I found zooba was by looking at their list of other books clubs. Other than that I agree that since they underwent their change I also have not been very happy with the club and the service. Most recently they suddenly stopped charging me and sending me books although I had not said anything to them about cancelling.

    Like

    • Tim Gatewood says:

      I got the distinct impression it was originally a separate entity that was sold to the corporate parent of the other book clubs. In any case, they were a much better club when they were zooba with very little change at first when they changed the name. From the customer perspective, it felt like there was a new owner who took a while to settle in before making major changes — and then they messed it up very badly and left it messed up for months. I would never go back to them or any club they own/operate, that is how badly I view the way they ran this one into the ground.

      Like

  5. I keep getting a bill and I never ordered the” pretend book “they say they sent me! I am ready to ask an attorney where my hubby works to contact these idiots. They stink!

    Like

  6. Debbie Smith says:

    Same issues they keep charging my account but I have not received any books 4X

    Like

  7. I too was a very happy customer of zooba and even bomc2 until they decided to change up everything about a year ago. Stay away from Rhapsody book club as it is ran by the same people. You can’t get a straight answer out of either and the customer service is the worst around!!! They lie, send books when accounts are closed and then come after you. UGH they are such a nightmare!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  8. I think one bad customer experience will kill one’s brand, as we are all aware that the new marketing is customer service.

    Like

Leave a Reply

