My Latest Notary Tip

As announced here several weeks ago, I have begun a long-term freelance writing assignment for the American Association of Notaries. As it is an open-ended assignment and they are letting me pick my own topics, I started with a basic series on being a notary, which gives me an opportunity to work on the opening chapter of Tim’s Tennessee Notary Book while getting paid for it. The actual book will be more Tennessee-specific and will include material that may not be of interest to a national audience, but is essential for a Tennessee notary public (and those who use their services) to know. Otherwise, if you read the Notary Tips as they are published on the AAN blog, you will have a pretty good idea of some of the content of my first book.

One of the lessons that I have learned so far in this process is that, while there is a definite, logical order in which information should be presented so that it flows from data bit to data bit, the information does not necessarily appear in my brain in that order. I write the articles in the order that they occur to me and submit them once I feel that they are ready. My publisher then looks at what of my work he has already posted and selects the next article in an order that makes sense to him.

So, the article that was just published today was the 3rd one I wrote for him, even though it is the 5th one to be published on the AAN blog.

In any case, this article is CORE to what I believe is the mission of a notary public. If you read my first article (http://www.notarypublicstamps.com/articles/what-does-a-notary-public-do/) that was published on the AAN blog and you read this one, between them, you will know the most important parts of being a notary. The other articles expand on these two, explaining concepts and terms in them with more details.

Future articles on the AAN Notary Tips blog will continue that expansion until I finish the series that was begun with my first article, then I will move into other aspects of the notary business and experience.

Here is the link to my newest paid and published piece :  http://www.notarypublicstamps.com/articles/what-it-means-to-sign-a-document-freely-and-willingly/

 

About Tim Gatewood

55+, male, widowed (May 2016). Mobile notary public and signing agent, freelance writer, and ordained minister. Science fiction and fantasy fan, willing servant to cats, avid reader and collector of books and other stuff. Please see my websites (including this blog and others) for more info on me and what I think about the issues of the day.
This entry was posted in Freelancing, Notary Public and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

