7 Responses to Language, as always, changes

  1. Tim Gatewood says:

    I have been thinking about this today and I decided that “I could care less” is an example of a double-positive becoming a negative, such as “Yeah. Right!” It is not all that common in English, but it does happen. In both cases, it requires a sarcastic tone of voice to communicate the implied “NOT ! “

    Like

  2. Tim Gatewood says:

    My own best example of what she has written about here is the word “they” as a singular pronoun. The copy-editors seem to be the only people who object to this as not allowing it results in “he/she/they” and “his/her/their” and other awkwardnesses that could be much simplified with “they” and “their.” It’s a gender-neutral pronoun that can be singular or plural (and, unlike, y’all, it does not brand you as a Southerner or a redneck when you use it). It’s been used for centuries by famous and not famous writers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • wscottling says:

      Thanks for the reblog! (Another created word…) ^_^

      Like

    • wscottling says:

      I also use they & their as single, gender-neutral pronouns. English had something similar once, but it’s long forgotten. People have been using they & their for as long as I can remember, and in books I’ve read that date pretty far back… I would quote ’em, but it’s late and I don’t want to dig through boxes. ^_^

      Like

  3. Oh, I guess I need to lighten up! Some of these are pet peeves of mine! Irregardless? Could care less? Ack! I’m breaking out in hives!!!

    Like

    • Tim Gatewood says:

      Thanks, Dr Sorick. I share some of the grammar pet peeves mentioned in this article, but she has a point. As long as we understand what she’s trying to say, she HAS communicated and it’s rather mean to attack her for how she did it. I’m going to work at reducing my ire and directing it toward those who really deserve it, such as those who insist on parking in the striped areas next to the handicapped parking spaces at Kroger. 😉

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

