Write Non-Fiction In November (WNFIN) – Day 1

As announced previously on my business blog (Notary Memphis) and on Facebook, I have registered for the Write Non-Fiction In November challenge, also known as WNFIN. This is the non-fiction counterpart to the National Novel Writing Month challenge held in November every year here in the USA, as well as the National Blogging Post challenge from WordPress.

These challenges have some hard-to-pronounce acronyms (NaNonFiWriMo, NaNoWriMo, NaBloPoMo), which I will mostly ignore except in the tags. I like the WNFIN label, as it can be easily said (and the pronounced version starts with WIN!).

Note-to-self-Write-a-book-THIS-MONTH

Yes, I am going to write a book in November. Not that I will be starting from scratch — I already have a bunch of voice notes, notes typed into various apps on my Blackberry, handwritten notes in several places, and, oh yes, all those articles that I wrote for the American Association of Notaries and to which I kept almost all of the rights. Due to all these pieces already in hand, I can not just sit down and start writing.

So, for the first day of Write NonFiction In November, I spent my time making a plan for the month. It is important to have a plan so you know what you are doing. Here is mine.

Plan for WNFIN 2015
Goal: Get American Notary Basics™ done and sent to beta-readers

  1. Type all audio notes
  2. Transfer notes from Reminder app on phone to folder on desktop
  3. Transfer notes from Evernote to folder on desktop
  4. Type notes from journals
  5. Copy notary articles that have not yet been published into text if relevant
  6. Watch Scrivener tutorial videos (esp. on doing Table of Contents w/page numbers)
  7. Get latest version of Scrivener & register it
  8. Move texts from above into Scrivener project & get word count
  9. Do new ToC in Scrivener
  10. WRITE the articles not yet written
  11. WRITE the connecting words needed to give it flow
  12. Do new ToC and compile the draft into pdf  manuscript
  13. Copy pdf onto my tablets for reading
  14. Edit the manuscript by reading it aloud and making notes on paper
  15. Revise the manuscript based on notes & recompile it into pdf/rtf/doc
  16. Line up proof-readers and beta-readers
  17. Send manuscript to them
  18. Celebrate

As many people have said over the years, if you want to be a success, plan your work and work your plan. Now that I have planned my work, all that remains is to work my plan. Easy, right? 😀

About Tim Gatewood

55+, male, widowed (May 2016). Mobile notary public and signing agent, freelance writer, and ordained minister. Science fiction and fantasy fan, willing servant to cats, avid reader and collector of books and other stuff. Please see my websites (including this blog and others) for more info on me and what I think about the issues of the day.
This entry was posted in Freelancing, Notary Public, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Write Non-Fiction In November (WNFIN) – Day 1

  1. dray0308 says:

    Reblogged this on Dream Big, Dream Often and commented:
    Introducing Minister Is A Verb!!

    Like

  2. I think this is great. I read once that a goal without a plan is just a wish. I am going to look into it so you might have some competition. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tim Gatewood says:

      Authors don’t actually compete with one another. Each of us has our own voice. Even if you were writing a book on the same topic, you’re not competing with me. So, sure, join the challenge! It’s a great way to focus and stay motivated and get YOUR book written. I look forward to reading it, if you do.

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s great to hear! I have been wanting to write a book based off my life struggles but also motivational. I have a goal list similar to yours, but with my health up & down its been hard to put it all together.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Tim Gatewood says:

          For organizing, I highly recommend Evernote on your phone and computer and tablet as a way to capture notes and have them available everywhere you work; and Scrivener on your computer as a way to let you write in bits and pieces, arrange the pieces, re-arrange them as needed, and compile it all into a manuscript. Plus it can be set to backup often (I have mine backing up when I open, save, or close the project).

          Liked by 1 person

  3. pamkirst2014 says:

    Good luck–this looks like a really organized commitment! I didn’t know there was a non-fiction component–that’s very interesting…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tim Gatewood says:

      Pam, yeah, I only found out about this recently myself. The organizer of it has several low-cost ebooks available. I’m reading one of them now and it’s quite good. My plan is more about getting the bits and pieces together and putting them where they go in the book so I can stop thinking about where they all are right now. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

